About The Faculty

Faculty of science belongs to Soran University, it was first established in 2010.  And supervised by an academic

and scientific staff. Now it consists of five scientific departments (computer science, mathematics, biology, petroleum geoscience and chemistry) and it still runs the classes.

The faculty’s managing board :

Assistant Professor Dr. Sardar Muhiadin Balaky, dean of science faculty.

Professor Dr. Ebtisam Kamal the Administrative and Financial assistant of faculty’s dean.

Dr. Ayad Nuri Faqi the scientific assistant of faculty’s dean.

The name of head of department’s :

Mathematics department Assistant Lecture Mr.Nawzad Hamadamin Ahmed.

Computer department Assistant Lecture  Mrs. Bnar Azad Hamadamin.   

Petroleum geoscience department Dr. Sherwan Sharif Qurtas.

Chemistry department Assistant Lecture Mr. Hazhar Muhammed Hamadamin.

Biology Department assistant Lecture Mr. Shorsh Mustafa Gorony.

Faculty of science consists of the following units :

Dean office, billing office, filling, archive, issued and received, scientific affairs and scientific research, accounting, quality insurance, service affairs, transmit and transportation affairs.

The geographical place of faculty :

Occurs Delizyan quarter in soran  (the mathematics and computer science departments are in faculty of education building) while the other departments (biology, geoscience and chemistry) is in university’s new camp.

The study in this faculty is to gain BA degree, the style of study is courses system style, and the student approval for the faculty is according to Zanko Line and ministry of high education and scientific research.

The opportunities for higher education depends on faculties abilities, sending the staff or teachers to study aboard .


To promote world-class quality teaching and research and prepare graduates to be capable to have leadership positions within their community.


The Faculty is to acquire international acknowledgment and respect for quality and achievement.


To build, develop, and maintain meaningful high quality education and research programs in all disciplines.

Links with other Institutions

The Faculty of Science established active research and teaching programs with both individual researchers and academics as well as institutional with well-established universities such as Universite Libre de Bruxelles, University of Uppsala, CNRS-France, University of Huddersfield-UK, University of UPMC-Sorbonne, France. Currently Department of Petroleum Geosciences is running four PhD programs in collaboration with ULB in Carbonate Sedimentology, Stable Isotopes/Geochemistry, and Basin Studies. Moreover, the courses programs of the undergraduates and postgraduates are run jointly with visiting professors from ULB, CNRS, Petroleum Institute and Uppsala University. Several international Publications have seen light just recently as a result of this collaboration. The Department of Biology has initiated an international research project on genetics studying the “Genetic Ancestry of the Kurdish Population”.  Recently both of the Faculty of Science and Engineering and Leicester University have initiated research and teaching collaboration with very promising initial results especially on GIS, Environmental, Geology and natural resources management with emphasis on postgraduate projects.